View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
StrontiumDog Server Admin
Joined: 31 Jan 2006 Location: Chilliwack, BC Guild: <eVa> & V$ Posts: 1115
|
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 9:20 am Post subject: Binding 101 |
|
|
I can't remember who asked me to post something but after our Binding 101 class, where the entire Allies team on Sturm stopped playing just to write crazy binds, I thought I'd better do something before I forget!
This is no way complete and if you have some nice simple binds, please add to this list.
So the command is
bind "KEY" "COMMAND" - don't forget the quotes.
For example,
bind "F12" "say Another quality headshot brought to you by the K98"
say: tells everyone the message
say_team: tells your team the message
Now, Half Life includes "variables" which can be added to the message
%i: the nearest player's name
%l: your location
%c: what class you are (Sniper etc)
%h: your health
%t: the time
so a bind could be
bind "p" "say_team Come on you lot, I'm at %l, my health is %h, it's %t and I'm still waiting"
which would print out: "Come on you lot, I'm at The Bridge, my health is 12, it's 7:09pm and I'm still waiting"
if you were at The Bridge and had just been narrowly shot up by Frosty
or
Gator likes to use
bind "p" "say Nice bum %i"
You can add some commands that exist in DoD but aren't given a key
for example
bind "o" "stopsound" will turn off the ambient sound (except on Saints )
You can also change some of your exisitng binds and split the commands with a semicolon ;
For example,
bind "h" "dropammo; say_team I dropped ammo at %l"
The keys' names are simple but there are a few special ones such as the
function keys F1 - F12 (F5 is already used for snapshot...)
keypad keys
bind "KP_HOME" "say 7"
bind "KP_UPARROW" "say 8"
bind "KP_PGUP" "say 9"
bind "KP_LEFTARROW" "say 4"
bind "KP_5" "say 5"
bind "KP_RIGHTARROW" "say 6"
bind "KP_END" "say 1"
bind "KP_DOWNARROW" "say 2"
bind "KP_PGDN" "say 3"
bind "KP_INS" "say 0"
bind "KP_DEL" "say ."
Some DOs & DON'Ts
Don't use the number keys! Did that once ...
Do check your config.cfg to check which keys are in use. It is found is C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\your login\day of defeat\dod folder
Try not to say something everytime you fire a gun...the server will think you're spamming!
Do make sure you stay within server rules.
I think Inevitable had the best contrived bind yesterday, but I can't remember it... _________________
"Oh Smeg! What the smeg's he smegging done? He's smegging killed me!" Lister, Red Dwarf
Last edited by StrontiumDog on Thu Jul 20, 2006 2:14 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Stevo Ville Supporter
Joined: 08 Dec 2002 Location: Orange County Guild: TVR Posts: 9514
|
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 9:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
This bind tends to confuse people:
bind mouse1 "+attack; firemarker"
A good shortcu is to only use a quote in front of the command if it has spaces in it. Examples:
bind o stopsound
bind l "say Hello _________________
The Official TVR Website
Fopp
Song of the Week |
|
Back to top |
|
|
l3eeron Ville Supporter
Joined: 04 Jan 2002 Location: Stuck in a perputual loop of nowness Posts: 682
|
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 9:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
How do I use the hand signals and voice menu along with text?
Like I wanna do something like this:
bind mouse3 "say_team GRENADE, TAKE COVER!; handsignalmenu; voicemenu2"
I don't know how to bind the hand and voice menus. _________________ =(M)-(M)= Mal n the m00bs - TVC 06 finalists
V$V$V$ Ville supporter V$V$V$
CLICK FOR EVA WEBSITE
eternalVillealliance |
|
Back to top |
|
|
StrontiumDog Server Admin
Joined: 31 Jan 2006 Location: Chilliwack, BC Guild: <eVa> & V$ Posts: 1115
|
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 1:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
l3eeron wrote: | How do I use the hand signals and voice menu along with text?
Like I wanna do something like this:
bind mouse3 "say_team GRENADE, TAKE COVER!; handsignalmenu; voicemenu2"
I don't know how to bind the hand and voice menus. |
Voice menus or hand signals, select from the list below..... (they mostly work in DoD but the list is from Source so some may not!)
So your bind would be:
bind mouse3 "say_team GRENADE, TAKE COVER!; voice_grenade; signal_grenade"
VOICE MENUS
Take this ammo voice_takeammo
Fire in the hole voice_fireinhole
I need backup voice_backup
I need ammo voice_needammo
Squad, covering fire voice_cover
Go, go, go voice_gogogo
Prepare for assault voice_attack
Sniper voice_sniper
Incoming fire, left flank voice_fireleft
Area clear voice_areaclear
Incoming fire, right flank voice_fireright
Flank left voice_left
Flank right voice_right
Cover the flanks voice_coverflanks
Fall back voice_fallback
Cease fire voice_ceasefire
Hold this position voice_hold
Stick together voice_sticktogether
Displace voice_displace
Smoke ‘em voice_usesmoke
Get a grenade in there voice_usegrens
Use the bazooka voice_usebazooka
Panzerschreck voice_bazookaspotted
Grenade, take cover voice_grenade
Enemy position knocked out voice_wegothim
Enemy ahead voice_enemyahead
Enemy behind us voice_enemybehind
We need an MG up here voice_moveupmg
MG position ahead voice_mgahead
Yes, sir voice_yessir
Negative voice_negative
Nice shot voice_niceshot
Thanks voice_thanks
Medic! voice_medic
Drop your weapons voice_dropweapons
HAND SIGNALS
signal_enemyspotted
signal_spreadout
signal_holdposition
signal_takecover
signal_coveringfire
signal_areaclear
signal_flankright
signal_moveout
signal_flankleft
signal_grenade
signal_enemyleft
signal_enemyright
signal_backup
signal_sniper
signal_yes
signal_no
signal_fallback
signal_sticktogether _________________
"Oh Smeg! What the smeg's he smegging done? He's smegging killed me!" Lister, Red Dwarf |
|
Back to top |
|
|
loka Registered User
Joined: 30 Jan 2006 Location: Boston, MA Guild: =US-V= Posts: 433
|
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 1:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
so i binded the letter L...
stupid me thats the zoom in zoom out for the map...how do i disable the bind and get the zoom back? _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Stevo Ville Supporter
Joined: 08 Dec 2002 Location: Orange County Guild: TVR Posts: 9514
|
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 2:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
loka wrote: | so i binded the letter L...
stupid me thats the zoom in zoom out for the map...how do i disable the bind and get the zoom back? |
If you don't know the command for something, you can bind it in the Keyboard tab in Settings. _________________
The Official TVR Website
Fopp
Song of the Week |
|
Back to top |
|
|
StrontiumDog Server Admin
Joined: 31 Jan 2006 Location: Chilliwack, BC Guild: <eVa> & V$ Posts: 1115
|
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 2:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
bind "l" "+mapzoom" _________________
"Oh Smeg! What the smeg's he smegging done? He's smegging killed me!" Lister, Red Dwarf |
|
Back to top |
|
|
l3eeron Ville Supporter
Joined: 04 Jan 2002 Location: Stuck in a perputual loop of nowness Posts: 682
|
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 3:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
StrontiumDog wrote: | bind mouse3 "say_team GRENADE, TAKE COVER!; voice_grenade; signal_grenade" |
Thank you!!! _________________ =(M)-(M)= Mal n the m00bs - TVC 06 finalists
V$V$V$ Ville supporter V$V$V$
CLICK FOR EVA WEBSITE
eternalVillealliance |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|